Michael Phillips Edited Versions of the novels

Set out below is a key to the various books, George MacDonald's original titles are shown in brackets.

  • The Fisherman's Lady (Malcolm)
  • The Marquis' Secret (The Marquis of Lossie)
  • The Baronet's Song (Sir Gibbie)
  • The Shepherd's Castle (Donal Grant)
  • The Tutor's First Love (David Elginbrod)
  • The Musician's Quest (Robert Falconer)
  • The Maiden's Bequest (Alec Forbes of Howglen)
  • The Curate's Awakening (Thomas Wingfold)
  • The Lady's Confession (Paul Faber)
  • The Baron's Apprenticeship (There and Back)
  • A Daughter's Devotion (Mary Marston)
  • The Gentlewoman's Choice (Weighed and Wanting)
  • The Highlander's Last Song (What's Mine's Mine)
  • The Laird's Inheritance (Warlock O'Glenwarlock)
  • The Landlady's Master (The Elect Lady)
  • The Minister's Restoration (Salted With Fire)
  • The Peasant Girl's Dream (Heather and Snow)
  • The Poet's Homecoming (Home Again)